Colorado licensing guide
Colorado Behavioral Health & Substance Use Licensing Guide
How Colorado’s Behavioral Health Administration (BHA) licenses treatment providers: who needs a behavioral health entity (BHE) license, endorsements, the application, fees, accreditation, opioid treatment programs and the coming state license for recovery residences.
- Licensing agency
- Behavioral Health Administration (BHA)Part of the Colorado Department of Human Services
- Main license
- Behavioral health entity (BHE) license with endorsements2 CCR 502-1, Chapter 2; required since January 1, 2024
- Applications
- Letter of intent, then the LADDERS systemApply at least 90 days before you open
- Opioid treatment
- Controlled substance license on top of the BHE licenseOne per site, renewed every year
- Accreditation
- No state deemed status or fee discountFederally required for opioid treatment programs
Licensing or accrediting a program here? Book a free consultation or call 561-396-0813.
Who licenses behavioral health providers in Colorado?
The Behavioral Health Administration. BHA sits within the Department of Human Services, and its Quality and Standards division enforces the provider rules through licensing, designation and approval.5 Since January 1, 2024, operating a BHE without a BHA license has been unlawful. Agencies once licensed by the Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) or approved by the former Office of Behavioral Health now apply to BHA.2
Not every facility moves to BHA. General and psychiatric hospitals, nursing homes, residential child care facilities licensed through the Division of Child Welfare and assisted living residences licensed by CDPHE do not need a BHE license.3 Medicaid, called Health First Colorado, is run by the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF).9
License types and endorsements
Who needs a BHE license: under BHA’s checklist, any one of these makes an agency a BHE: 10 or more full-time-equivalent licensed or certified behavioral health professionals, counting contractors; a current or past SUD license, CMHC or CMHc designation or CDPHE BHE license; services for people in the criminal justice system, including DUI and DWAI programs; a controlled substance license; or overnight care not covered by another facility license.3
BHA issues one license per entity, listing every location and the endorsements held at each one. A BHE needs at least one endorsement and may offer only endorsed services.2
- Outpatient endorsements: outpatient, high-intensity outpatient, walk-in crisis, mobile crisis, and Level 1 and Level 2 withdrawal management.2
- Residential and overnight endorsements: residential (including mental health transitional living homes), crisis stabilization units, acute treatment units, residential respite, and Level 3.2 and 3.7 withdrawal management.2, 4
- Population endorsements, with no fee: recovery supports, emergency and involuntary SUD commitment, children and families, women’s and maternal treatment, and criminal justice-involved individuals.4
BHA also issues controlled substance and recovery support services organization (RSSO) licenses, safety net approvals, 27-65 designations for involuntary mental health care and eating disorder designations.2
Law and rules
The licensing requirement comes from C.R.S. 27-50-501, and BHA’s rulemaking authority from 27-50-107 and 27-50-502.2 The provider rules are 2 CCR 502-1 (current version effective January 1, 2026): Chapter 2 sets BHE standards, Chapters 3 to 10 the endorsements, and Chapters 11 to 15 cover 27-65 designation, safety net approval, controlled substances, RSSOs and eating disorder facilities.2 BHA also maintains system rules (2 CCR 502-5) and administrative rules (2 CCR 502-6).6
How to apply for a BHE license
- Confirm you are a BHECheck BHA’s criteria and choose your endorsements and locations.3, 5
- Start fingerprints and fire safetyEach owner and manager is fingerprinted through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation, and each location needs a certificate of compliance from the Division of Fire Prevention and Control, which BHA contacts once you apply. Without both, the application is incomplete.2, 5
- Send a letter of intentBHA opens a file when it receives your letter. You then apply in LADDERS, BHA’s online licensing system.2, 1
- Submit the applicationInclude ownership details, liability insurance, organizing documents, floor plans, leases, 10 years of adverse-action history and the non-refundable fees, at least 90 days before opening.2
- Review and decisionAnswer any defect notice within 14 days. BHA acts within 30 days of a complete application, and the first license lasts one year. A 90-day provisional license, renewable once, is possible if you are in substantial compliance.2
Renewals and sales: renew at least 60 days before expiry, or pay a late fee equal to the renewal fee if the application is still incomplete 30 days out. Licenses do not transfer. A change of ownership, including 50% changing hands over up to five years, needs a new application at least 30 days ahead.2
Licensing fees
| License or approval | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| BHE base fee | $500 | Initial, annual renewal or change of ownership; includes one outpatient location |
| Each additional outpatient location | $300 | Charged once per location, however many outpatient services it offers |
| Each residential or overnight location | $600 | Charged once per location |
| Controlled substance license | $500 | Initial and each annual renewal; one license per site |
| RSSO license | $200 | Application fee |
| Safety net approval | No fee | No application deadline |
BHA’s examples run from $500 for one outpatient site to $5,300 for 13 locations, two with residential services. Provisional licenses carry a separate fee the rule does not state.4, 2, 5
How accreditation counts in Colorado
No deemed status: the BHA provider rules do not mention CARF, The Joint Commission or COA, and accreditation neither replaces a BHA inspection nor reduces a fee. BHA may inspect any BHE or applicant, and a BHE must hand over accreditation survey reports if BHA asks.2
Medicaid: enrollment as a Health First Colorado SUD provider follows the ASAM levels on your BHA license, not accreditation.9
Opioid treatment: accreditation is mandatory under federal rules. SAMHSA’s approved bodies include CARF International, The Joint Commission and Social Current (formerly COA).11, 12
Getting accredited? See our CARF accreditation consultants and Joint Commission consultants, available nationwide.
Opioid treatment programs
- State licenses: an OTP needs a BHE license plus a BHA controlled substance license for each site that dispenses or administers from stock medication. Chapter 13 adds OTP standards, incorporates 42 CFR Part 8 and requires DEA registration, SAMHSA certification and federal accreditation.2
- Provisional period: BHA inspects new applicants on site, and a new controlled substance license starts as a 180-day provisional license, with at most one further 180-day provisional term.2
- Renewal: renew 30 days before expiry, but no more than 60 days early, with copies of your DEA registration and SAMHSA certification or accreditation.2
- Federal steps: SAMHSA’s one-year provisional certification needs state licensing and DEA registration first. The program must become accredited within that year.11
- State authority: BHA houses Colorado’s State Opioid Treatment Authority and runs the OTP central registry for admissions and discharges.10 Office-based prescribers who do not dispense from stock need no controlled substance license.2
Other approvals you may need
- Safety net approval: a voluntary BHA approval, as an essential or comprehensive provider, that makes you eligible for enhanced safety net payments but does not guarantee them. You can apply alongside your BHE license.2, 5 Approved providers contract with Medicaid’s regional accountable entities (RAEs).8
- BHASO networks: since July 1, 2025, four regional Behavioral Health Administrative Service Organizations (BHASOs) have run safety net networks for uninsured and underinsured people, combining the work of the former MSOs and ASOs.7
- Health First Colorado: license each ASAM level you will bill, enroll with matching specialty provider types, then contract with your region’s managed care entities.9
- RSSO license: only for peer-run organizations billing Medicaid for peer support.2
- Eating disorder designation: required from January 1, 2026 for intensive outpatient, partial hospitalization, residential and inpatient eating disorder programs.2, 15
Recent changes
- July 1, 2025: the BHASO system launched.7
- August 1, 2025: the controlled substance and OTP rules were revised to match the updated federal 42 CFR Part 8.16
- January 1, 2026: eating disorder facility designation took effect under SB24-117.15
- HB26-1116 (effective August 12, 2026): telehealth-only applicants no longer need a fire safety certificate of compliance. Outpatient-only applicants may rely on inspections by a local fire department that employs a certified inspector.14
- SB26-113 (signed June 2, 2026): recovery residences must hold a BHA license from July 1, 2027, rather than relying on third-party certification.13 BHA will take applications from May 1, 2027; certified residences have until July 1, 2028 to switch, and Oxford House charters active on June 30, 2027 are licensed automatically.1
- ASAM 4th edition rules: the State Board of Human Services adopted the Fall 2026 provider rules (Chapters 1 and 3 to 7) on October 9, 2026, effective July 1, 2027. A Spring 2027 packet covering Chapter 2 and other chapters is planned for the same date.6, 9
Confirm these with BHA
- The provisional license fee, which the rule does not state.
- How the Spring 2027 packet changes Chapter 2 procedures and fees before it takes effect.
- For recovery residences: the final Chapter 16 standards, fees and application steps.
- Whether your local fire department can inspect an outpatient-only site under HB26-1116.
- For safety net approval: whether to seek essential or comprehensive status, and contracting with your BHASO.
We map your BHE endorsements and locations, prepare the LADDERS application, line up fire safety and fingerprints and plan for the 2027 ASAM rule changes and safety net approval.
Sources
- Colorado BHA, Behavioral health licensing, designation and approvals. bha.colorado.gov
- Code of Colorado Regulations, 2 CCR 502-1, Behavioral Health (effective January 1, 2026). sos.state.co.us
- Colorado BHA, Is my agency a behavioral health entity? (December 2023). drive.google.com
- Colorado BHA, BHE fee schedule (effective January 1, 2024). drive.google.com
- Colorado BHA, Agency guide for providers new to regulatory oversight. drive.google.com
- Colorado BHA, Laws and rules. bha.colorado.gov
- Colorado BHA, Behavioral Health Administrative Service Organizations. bha.colorado.gov
- Colorado HCPF, Safety net and crisis services. hcpf.colorado.gov
- Colorado HCPF, Ensuring full continuum SUD benefits: providers. hcpf.colorado.gov
- Colorado BHA, Opioid treatment programs. bha.colorado.gov
- SAMHSA, Become an opioid treatment program. samhsa.gov
- SAMHSA, Approved accreditation bodies for opioid treatment programs. samhsa.gov
- Colorado General Assembly, SB26-113, Require recovery residences to obtain BHA license. leg.colorado.gov
- Colorado General Assembly, HB26-1116, Process for people with behavioral health disorder. leg.colorado.gov
- Colorado Secretary of State, eDocket 2025-00415, eating disorder treatment facility rules. sos.state.co.us
- Colorado Secretary of State, eDocket 2025-00142, controlled substance licensing rule update. sos.state.co.us
This guide summarizes Colorado statutes, rules and BHA pages as of the date above. It is general information, not legal advice. Requirements change; confirm with BHA before you apply.